Commencement Class of 2021

Welcome and Congratulations

Congratulations and best of luck to the distinguished graduates of the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design, Class of 2021.

Join us at this web page on Saturday, May 1, 4:00 pm ET for a YouTube Premiere commencement ceremony, with commencement speaker Nekisha Durrett (MFA ‘00).

Congratulations to the Class of 2021


Bachelor of Arts

Shira Baron

Emily Bartlett

Joshua Brown

XiaoYu Che

Sophia Chen

Arianna Deng

Anna Dinardi

Franklin Dobrusin

Hafsa Ghias

Daisy Hall

Kinsey Harvey

Mackenzie Hewitt

Willa Hua

Katie Huang

Elizabeth Hungerman

Eloise Janssen

Atharva Kharkar

Minsun Kim

Mackenzie King

Rinette Korea

Jordan LaMaide

Valerie Le

Angelique Lemrow

Dakota Lewis

Joseph Lico

Ariel Lowenstern

Katherine Majeske

Nicholas McIntyre

Juliette Meyers

Lauren Page

Shrinali Patel

Judah Pemble

Maggie Roback

Elise Robinson

Sabrina Schwartzberg

Kraig Sims II

Sylvia Sinsabaugh

Ryan Sowulewski

Seth St. Pierre

Marin Tarnowski

Kaitlin Vanderyacht

Caleb Walden

Zachary Williams

Molly Wu

Lucy Zhang

Abigail Ziemkowski



Congratulations to the recipients of the Stamps 2021 Commencement Awards. Their creativity, drive, and perseverance are a true inspiration, now and always.

Big Idea Award

In memory of alumna Penny W. Stamps, and provided with generous support from the Stamps Family, friends, and other supporters in the community, the Big Idea Award provides $25,000 to a Stamps senior or a team of Stamps Seniors to help launch a major, ambitious project after graduation – a project that calls on the student or team to commit their moral and intellectual capital to their Big Idea.

Atharva Kharkar Memorial Award

This award recognizes a student who is passionate in their creative voice and area of focus, inspirational to those in their community, committed and determined to have a positive impact, and is a talented storyteller.

Jean Paul Slusser Award – MDes Thesis Project

This award honors a student who understood and embraced the MDes program goals and will be a strong ambassador for our program in the world, as nominated by MDes faculty.

2021 Award Winner:
Larrea Young

Jean Paul Slusser Award – MFA Thesis Project

This award honors MFA students whose work was recognized for excellence by 2021 MFA Thesis Jurors Jane Jin Kaisen, Sarah Rose Sharp, and Amanda McDonald Crowley.

Senior Studio Award

This award recognizes two students who are deemed to have the best BA project in their graduating class.

2021 Award Winners:
Eloise Janssen
Maggie Roback

Integrative Project Written Thesis Award

This award is being given to two graduating Stamps seniors, to recognize their writing and research during the Integrative Project course. During a time when there was limited access to studios and challenges to making work, these students engaged with research and reflection that not only informed their work, but transformed their practice.

2021 Award Winners:
Allison Burns
Noah Caspar

Integrative Project Award

This award recognizes two BFA students in each IP section who are deemed to have exceptional Integrative Project outcomes and processes.

Gorman Award

This award recognizes an outstanding student as nominated by faculty. The selected student is a strong representation of the values of the Stamps School of Art & Design and demonstrates excellence in quality of work, scholarship, and their contributions to the school and their community.

2021 Award Winner:
Juliet Mandell

Candy R. Wei Prize for International Studies in Art & Design

The Candy R. Wei Prize for International Studies in Art & Design is awarded to four Stamps seniors every year in recognition of exemplary art influenced by their international experience.

2021 Award Winners:
Emily Greatorex
Leila Mullison
Mac Realo
Seth St. Pierre

Summa Cum Laude

Summa Cum Laude honors are given to undergraduate students whose cumulative grade point average places them in the top three percent of the graduating class.

Phi Beta Kappa

As America’s most prestigious honor society, Phi Beta Kappa has celebrated excellence in the liberal arts & sciences and championed free thought since 1776.

2021 Honoree:
Phoebe Danaher